Awards and Grants

High school physics teachers (pre-service and in-service) have a number of awards and funding available to them. Click on the icons below to learn more about opportunities targeted toward K-12 teachers, and those who intend to teach. Learn about additional opportunities for Grants & Scholarships and Awards & Medals.

PhysTEC TotY Icon
PhysTEC Teacher of the Year
The PhysTEC Teacher of the Year program aims to recognize outstanding high school physics teachers who are graduates from PhysTEC institutions. The PhysTEC Teacher of the Year receives all-expenses-paid trips to the AAPT national meeting, the PhysTEC conference, and a $1,000 classroom materials grant. Applications open February 1.


PhysTEC Teacher
Student Programs
Barbara Lotze Scholarship
This $2,000, renewable scholarship is for high school seniors or undergraduate students planning a career in high school physics teaching.
High School Teacher Grants
These grants provide AAPT members with a small amount of funds ($100 to $500) to pursue innovative projects in the classroom.
Paul W. Zitzewitz Award
This award is for excellence in K-12 classroom teaching. Winners receive a financial award, expenses paid to attend a national AAPT conference, and the opportunity to give an address at the conference.

For more details and information about AAPT's K12 Programs, please contact Mark Hannum, at